On Studs, baby

Ugh, here goes the play money

7FVfyV6.png

And, let’s look at tomorrow’s temperature

wjTJkYt.png

PdQACt2.gif

HHrUSYr.gif

hC38r95.gif

AvME5Hg.gif

Kit:

sWLASdyh.jpg

a7jz1F5h.jpg

Tools. MY BODY IS READY

1wkVARKh.jpg

New studs:

P4dLl2jh.jpg

Compared to old:

6RTP9RGl.jpg

While I was down there, I noticed I had a remanufactured alternator:

XZdJF9Kh.jpg

Removing the exhaust, along with the PO’s (and my) futile attempts to stem this exhaust leak.

FVptPPXh.jpg
:stonk:

Annealing the copper exhaust gaskets, because Amazon forgot to include mine in this last order:

fmpij83h.jpg

Step 1: remove fuckered stud (sometimes the longest step)

Fwym1Gdh.jpg

Step 2: Drill out hole

0g84egVh.jpg

R2d4K0gh.jpg

Step 3: Counterbore hole

GU9mdF8h.jpg

Step 4: Tap hole

gpm63Prh.jpg
(Step 4a: clean out tapped hole)

Step 5: Using insert tool and plenty of oil, thread in the Time-Sert insert. Insert will initially thread in easily, then it will become difficult for 3-5 turns at the tool expands the last few threads in the insert to lock it into place.

nw1a9k7l.jpg

A6uFIRvl.jpg

cAP3zvBl.jpg

Step 6: Using high-temperature red loctite, thread in new exhaust stud.

4vTmyuDh.jpg

mPrcHAFl.jpg

mpbBGOul.jpg

The exhaust gaskets were cool by now, so I flattened them out and gave them a very light sanding, and will re-anneal them before installation.

E5diOwEh.jpg
(pictured: sanding not complete)

Also, note how the PO or PPO or PPPO has already done this to the other cylinder:

yjDH40Rh.jpg

Okay, so I had to time-sert two other studs, as they also spun out when I went to do the final nut tightening on them after installing the tailpipe (both sides are loosely installed, tailpipe is installed and tightened, then you tighten the manifolds to the head — otherwise they often are too “narrow” to allow the tailpipe to go on).

After that, there was one broken off stud left. Vice grips weren’t cutting it, and I tried torching the area and cooling over and over, along with penetrating fluid. Eventually, I went on a vision quest for a stud extractor set.

Harbor freight was a no-go, so was Home Depot. Autozone and the local Oreilly’s didn’t have one, either. Defeated, I turned around to go home, but stopped off at a NAPA just to check. They didn’t have one in stock, either, but on the way out I spotted a yellow Irwin blister pack on their “will call” order wall. There it was! Exactly what I needed!

I asked about it, but the cashier said it was a customer pickup. On the way out, the manager called me back and said that the guy was supposed to pick it up weeks ago, so he let me purchase it.

Ta da!

v0E7AgHl.jpg

Armed with the 8mm extractor, I attacked the stud after another heating and cooling round.

It snapped off nearly at the base of the head.

Having wasted $30, I decided to call Time of Death and just went on with the project. I know that may seem like bad ownership, but when I started this project last weekend each cylinder only had ONE stud holding the exhaust on (4 total), and now only ONE was missing (7 total). I’m calling that a success anyway, and resumed reassembly.

I also used two, full tubes of that silica-based exhaust sealing paste on every joint and crack and rattle.

Also, a link to the exhaust studs I purchased, because they’re WAY CHEAPER than the VW-sourced ones at $8/pop.

http://www.amazon.com/APDTY-Cylinder-1992-2011-W701706-S2-N811313-S431/dp/B00RC7P798?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

Tell me what I've done wrong here:

