On lead

Paint the dragon panel, get the dragon printed on the curtains

I have been contemplating this. Or maybe take the curtains and make three color stencils and paint the dragon on the white side of the curtains, then put the white side out? I dunno. The dragon’s legacy must live on, but the body work means that panel NEEDS to be painted.

I have loved every thing you have done so far, but i HATE that choice of curtain fabric! Everything else is so cool, and then you get unironic granny curtains.

Anyway carry on, your van is amazing.

Yes, YES. Let the hate flow through you!

Anyway, onwards.

I’m deciding to do a small (like, 100 or 200 watt) solar panel with the bus. To that end, I want to add a third battery, specifically for the solar panel. This does two things for me: it gives me more power when I need it, like in an extended power outage at the house or something, and it separates the solar battery from the emergency second battery in the engine bay, in case either system fucks up hard. I needed to build a battery box underneath the bed.

vIO6jlwl.jpg

QB7sjU0l.jpg

T0KW930l.jpg

The battery box is 8x13x10. It looks like it is suspended from above, but that would be stupid. It’s actually sitting on that front leg you see by the heater, and the rear is on the “hump” of the floor.

EpZJByVl.jpg

Added a hinged door to secure the battery. Hinge on the left, big metal hook on the right.

PcqAT52l.jpg

WDXjZ0bl.jpg

Also preparing the roof for the wires in from the solar panel. I’m really digging anything made by Blue Sea Systems. Not a paid endorsement, but everything is made out of UV-resistant plastic and rubber, and is built to be in wet areas and operated with big chunky switches by people sloshing around on the water. I really like it.

7QNwPnAl.jpg

Here’s my current plan, once the panel comes in. I already have the top two batteries, and just went to install that third one today. The inverter will be powered completely separately from the rest of the system, and my current house battery will become mainly a stereo and emergency engine backup battery.

H44U8Ub.png

Tell me what I've done wrong here:

