On styrofoam

Forgive me, for I have sinned. Stick with me.

I have wanted to insulate the bus for awhile. It doesn’t have any original insulation (as this wasn’t a westfalia tintop, just a 9-seater) and it is rattley and loud. The new plastic panels look a ton better than the old wood, but they, too, rattle.

So, I went to and got some supplies.

hIQlm14h.jpg

Then, I removed the bench seat:

ao011RSh.jpg

Go! Sit in the corner!

ahOvA69h.jpg
Note: this bench seat is modified strangely. See those little sharp knives triangular bent pieces of metal on the outer legs? Those are held on with hose clamps and shitty tack welding. I can’t tell where this seat is originally from. I know it’s a VW, but is it the wrong year? Did the PO cut out the floorboard and weld it in backwards by accident, necessitating moving the mounting points? I don’t know.

After the seat, I removed they key interior panels. Not the front doors, as those will come another day, but all of the important ones in the back.

UKkqtvCh.jpg

wKQAKGAh.jpg

lLskbXkh.jpg

fnHoR74h.jpg

After that, I used two rolls of flashing tape to cover the single-layer sheetmetal areas. This is asphalt/mix tape with a foil backing.

7MHIjb8h.jpg

JDkDohUh.jpg

7Kd6nath.jpg

h3UoiUAh.jpg

I had some tape left over, and this area is going to be under a bed, so :shrug:

aELuaH4h.jpg

iAsoWE5h.jpg

After the dampening tape, the real fun began.

qjwe5bVh.jpg

7Gar2prh.jpg

ZSHmNouh.jpg

A03txheh.jpg

EDyXem4h.jpg

Now, at this point in the story, I fell to temptation. You see, I hate, HATE even touching styrofoam. It gives me the heebie jeebies, and is right up there with “touching my bellybutton” on the Personal Hell and Real Torture (PHaRT) scale.

Those with weak stomachs, small children, or members of the fairer sexes, please leave the tent now. Your ticket price will be refunded in full.

P5D4d6th.jpg

cW88Olgh.jpg

KzQgH8Bh.jpg

ER20twph.jpg

9k5eibch.jpg

GY8n7OMh.jpg

3Q6291gh.jpg

cNYg9dGh.jpg

Oh also I used like one half of one sheet of styrofoam so I think I need to return the other two. FUN FACT: the distance from the inside of the cargo door to the back of the front seats is 111″, and the width of the opening flat across the bottom is 47.5″, though it immediately opens up larger once through the door. So you can, in fact, transport 4×8′ sheets of styrofoam/plywood without issue.

Tell me what I've done wrong here:

