On… ¿lolque?

Today I got bored and decided to start sanding and bondo-ing the bus down to prepare for my ultra-secret paintjob plan, and I discovered something.

But first, let’s put a flap disc on the angle grinder and remove some of the rust bubbles:

rmHNFLBl.jpg

GbiK11vl.jpg

SMiSVEWl.jpg

VXZ4fMll.jpg

Driver’s-side dogleg

uusz2q2l.jpg

Holes on the driver’s door for a marker light. No holes exist on the passenger door.

JY3qRdfl.jpg

The passenger dogleg is completely fucked. It was rust next to bondo that was over more rust. I’m going to do the same thing, but this time I’m going to go a bit further in rust removal. Eventually it will need to be replaced with new metal.

8sAcQHzl.jpg

pLtzaX9l.jpg

Passenger B pillar

Dq3SPPkl.jpg

Time to start sanding.

tk7xvIGl.jpg

Wait, pearl green paint on the decklid?

S7NK5l6l.jpg

What?

cqj64Nal.jpg

Q2JVS0Gl.jpg

I saw some shinyness in the paint, so I threw some water on it

SUthR3sl.jpg

TO15LYXl.jpg

vHeVKXNl.jpg

I’d almost be tempted to save it because it looks like it originally wrapped ALL THE WAY AROUND the bus, but the nose, passenger door, rear passenger panel behind the sliding door, and rear quarter panel have all been replaced, so the pattern wouldn’t be solid.

God damn hippies.

Tell me what I've done wrong here:

